Check out market updates

Ten to be recognized as Women of Distinction

Ten women from Northern Colorado will be recognized with this year’s Women of Distinction awards, a BizWest program to acknowledge the contributions of female leaders in the region.

The 10, selected by previous recipients of the award, represent multiple categories of business and nonprofit activity. 

The awards will be given out at an 11:30 a.m. luncheon on Aug. 9 at the Embassy Suites by Hilton Loveland Hotel and Conference Center. Early-bird ticket pricing of $60 is still available Friday. Prices rise to $65 after Friday until Aug. 1, when tickets the week of the event will be $70. Tickets can be purchased here.

The nine winners this year and their categories are:

  • Education: Danielle Bock, director of nutrition in the Greeley Schools, District 6.
  • Nonprofit: Sosamma Samuel-Burnett, founder/president of G.L.O.B.A.L. Justice based in Loveland.
  • Exceptional volunteer: Betzy Valdez, who volunteers with the Hispanic Women of Weld County, the Creative District, Weld Food Bank and others.
  • Health care: Jane Brewer, owner and doctor of chiropractic at Precision Chiropractic in Johnstown.
  • Real estate: Patty Weible, chief financial officer of The Group Inc. headquartered in Fort Collins.
  • Business: Allison Seabeck, director of the Warehouse Accelerator in Loveland.
  • Government: Laurie Stolen, director of Larimer County Behavioral Health Services.
  • Mentor: Lindsay Lehr, owner of Elite Youth Sports with operations from Fort Collins to Longmont.
  • Banking: Tami Lien, vice president and manager of Independent Financial in Loveland.
  • Leading Lady: Kristi Helzer of Greeley, founder of NoCo Women in Business.

Source: BizWest